Contact Us

Ocean City Today
410-723-6397
8200 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, Maryland 21842
P.O. Box 3500, Ocean City, Maryland 21843
 

 

Editorial

Editor: Phil Jacobs, philjacobs@oceancitytoday.net

Managing Editor: Lisa Capitelli, news3@oceancitytoday.net, editor@oceancitytoday.net

Staff Writer: Nancy Powell, npowell@oceancitytoday.net

Staff Writer: Zack Hoopes,  zhoopes@oceancitytoday.net

Staff Writer/Copy Editor: Clara Vaugn, clara@oceancitytoday.net

Sales

General Sales queries: sales@oceancitytoday.net

Account Representative: Mary Cooper, mcooper@oceancitytoday.net

Account Representative: Shelby Shea, shelby@oceancitytoday.net

Advertising Assistant: Megan Elkins, megan@oceancitytoday.net

Classified/Legals: Terry Burrier, classifieds@oceancitytoday.net

Digital Media Sales: Jacob Cohen, jcohen@oceancitytoday.net

Production

Senior Designer: Susan Parks, susan@oceancitytoday.net

Graphic Designer: Kelly Brown, kelly@baysidegazette.com

Graphic Designer: Kaitlin Sowa, kaitlin@oceancitytoday.net

Graphic Designer: Debbie Haas, debbie@oceancitytoday.net

Administration

Publisher: Stewart Dobson, sdobson@oceancitytoday.net

Associate Pubisher: Elaine Brady, ebrady@baysidegazette.com

Comptroller: Christine Brown, cbrown@oceancitytoday.net

Office Manager: Gini Tufts, gini@oceancitytoday.net

Editor/Publisher

Stewart Dobson literally grew up in the newspaper business, having begun working for his father and long-time Eastern Shore of Maryland newsman, the late Emory Dobson, at an early age. By the time he entered the business in 1970, he had worked in circulation, the press room, typesetting and the photography department. He went on to become an accomplished writer, photographer and graphic arts designer in a career that took him from the Eastern Shore to Arizona and Colorado and back again. He joined Ocean City Today in 1994.

Managing Editor

Managing Editor Lisa Capitelli, a New York native, entered Salisbury University (then Salisbury State) in the fall of 1998 and graduated in the spring of 2002 with a Bachelors of Arts degree. She majored in communication arts, and minored in art, with concentration on photography.
Lisa began her career at Ocean City Today as a staff writer in February 2003. She was promoted to Assistant Editor in August 2011 and Managing Editor in May, 2013. Editorial responsibilities include covering sports — from local high school games, to fishing tournaments and recreation and park programs, the business community and weekly happenings, events and activities.

Nancy Powell

Staff writer Nancy Powell, the sole remaining staffer from the first year of Ocean City Today, has covered almost every beat, but now covers county government, police and courts. She has won numerous awards for her writing and also for her photography.

A native of the area, she grew up in Friendship and Taylorville and now lives in Ocean Pines. Her first job was manager of the toy counters at Edwards 5 & 10 on the Boardwalk at North Division Street at age 14. She then worked for seven summers at various Candy Kitchen locations because of the two $5 raises each summer, one in early July and another in late August. She graduated from Florida Presbyterian College with a Bachelor of Arts degree in cultural anthropology. She learned journalism on the job. She serves as a trustee of Buckingham Presbyterian Church in Berlin and is also a member of the church’s Mission Committee.

Zach Hoopes

Zack grew up and graduated from high school in Waynesboro, Pennsylvania. He attended Columbia University, where he received a B.S. in history while writing for various campus publications and New York City-based nonprofit groups. He worked from 2010-2012 as a reviewer and editor for an international translation firm, also based in Manhattan. The promise of intrigue, adventure, and lower rent brought him to Ocean City Today in April 2012. He owns a cat and several pieces of attractive Swedish furniture.

Clara Vaughn

Clara discovered journalism as a freelance reporter for her hometown newspaper, the Eastern Shore News, in 2008. She spent her summers reporting from the courtroom to the marsh as a general assignment reporter for the News while finishing her undergraduate degree at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va. In 2011, she earned a Virginia Press Association Award for her health, science and environment writing package. After a stint in press relations, Clara returned to school, earning a Master of Journalism degree from the University of Maryland’s Philip Merrill College of Journalism in 2012. She traveled overseas and landed as a reporter and copy editor at Ocean City Today in May of 2013.

Marketplace

Business

Live Music at Seacrets

117 49th St

Check out Seacrets' extensive music lineup this weekend!

Business

Lunasea and Darkside Parties at Seacrets

117 49th St

Every full moon Seacrets throws a Lunasea party. The lights come down, the black lights come up, a band hits the stage and the party gets st...

Business

Monday Night AYCE Crab Legs and Ribs $24.99 at Harpoon Hanna's

39096 Harpoon road

Monday Night AYCE Crab Legs and Ribs $24.99

October 7, 2013 thru April 28, 2014


"All You Can Eat" Alaskan Snow Crab Legs & BBQ Baby Ba...

Business

Ocean City Brewing Company Opening

5509 Coastal Highway

Ocean City Brewing Company Opening on May 1st

Business

On the Edge at Horizons Oceanfront Dining

10100 Coastal Highway

The eastern shore's favorite old school dance band On the Edge will be performing Friday April 4th and Saturday April 5th at Horizon's Ocean...

Business

Seacrets' Raw Bar Specials

117 49th St

Seacrets Raw Bar Specials on Food and Drink 7 days a Week.

Business
Business

The Shrimp Boat Re-Opening

9724 Stephen Decatur Highway

The Shrimp Boat in west OC re-opens on April 10th. Be the first in line for your crabcakes!

Business

Pino's Wine Club

8203 Coastal Highway

Join us monthly for our Appetizer Wine Pairings.
Taste, enjoy and listen as representatives from our featured vineyards discuss the differen...